Animal Lovers' Blog


Sat Nav and Cider

UK Garden Spider

European Garden Spider

I’m not a big fan of spiders. They may be intellectually fascinating, but downright creepy otherwise. Just the other day I walked through a spider web thread in our conservatory. I didn’t think much of it and brushed the thread away. Back inside the house, I looked down and saw a giant, and I mean GIANT, spider on my collar. I screamed. The cat jumped. I flicked and stomped. The cat jumped again. I sighed. I reassured the cat. All was well in my world again.

So what was I thinking when I spotted in my garden several large spiders perched on their webs? Please don’t jump, bite, or be poisonous! Not knowing much about British bugs*, I had no clue, so I went online to learn that I’d met Araneus diadematus (a.k.a.  the cross spider, European garden spider, diadem spider, or cross orbweaver).

Should it comfort me…

View original post 235 more words

Comments are closed.