Animal Lovers' Blog


The Smaller Majority by Piotr Naskrecki

As the days grow shorter and colder, I find myself paying more and more attention to the organisms that I took for granted throughout the entire summer. Suddenly, cricket songs punctuate the unexpectedly chilly nights with hesitation, moths coming to the light on our deck are getting smaller and rarer, and spindly centipedes trapped in the kitchen sink in the morning remind me that I should count my arthropod blessings before winter takes most of them away.

The house centipede (Scutigera coleoptrata) is a particularly welcomed inhabitant of my domestic ecosystem. I have always been fascinated by these animals, and one of my life’s greatest achievements was the ability to convince my wife, who would rather be in the same room with a wild grizzly than a 3 mm long spider, to tolerate and (almost) appreciate their presence. On a few occasions a large centipede ran across the…

View original post 477 more words

Comments are closed.