Animal Lovers' Blog


The Smaller Majority by Piotr Naskrecki

The other day I was listening to Radiolab in my car (if you don’t know this program, give them a listen), and the topic of the episode was our perception of colors. I was struck by the statement that the color blue is exceptionally rare in nature and, as a consequence, philologists claim, this is the last color to enter human vocabulary in the course of the evolution of individual languages. This is simply because we rarely need (or needed, historically speaking) to describe things that are blue. I always knew that blue was relatively rare among terrestrial animals, albeit examples of blue species can be found in nearly every major group, and decided to see if the pattern of rarity of blueness is reflected in my photos.

I used the program Picasa, which allows you to filter images by their color information, to do a search for…

View original post 216 more words

Comments are closed.