Animal Lovers' Blog


The Smaller Majority by Piotr Naskrecki

On most nights I like to turn the porch light on, just to see what insects are flying in the neighborhood. Last night I stepped outside to check the light, and was instantly hit by a huge insect that bounced off my head and landed on the ground. To my surprise and delight it turned out to be a giant praying mantis. And not just any praying mantis – this was the largest praying mantis to be found in our neck of the woods, and it was also the second species of these remarkable insects to visit my garden this year.

All my life I have been dreaming of living in a place where winters are mild and mantids are plentiful. Although I cannot say that I have completely fulfilled my dream (winters in Boston are two orders of magnitude worse than in my native Poland), praying mantids are quite…

View original post 556 more words

Comments are closed.