Animal Lovers' Blog


Yellowstone Nature Photography by D. Robert Franz & Franzfoto Tours

Mule deer buck in snow
 

I’ve just returned home from a weeklong trip to photograph migratory mule deer in Southwestern Wyoming.   I’ve done well in years past but I was uncertain of the number and quality of the deer I would be able to find this year.  Wyoming has had two severe winters in a row with heavy spring snow, when wildlife is most vulnerable to starvation.   The Wyoming Game & Fish Department has reported heavy winter mortality in the area. 

This year we’ve had a relatively dry fall so far and not a lot of snow has fallen in the high mountains which forces the deer down to their winter range.  It seems many of the larger bucks are still high or migrating down from the mountains.  In areas where I’ve found many mature bucks in the past they were quite scarce this year. 

I was able to find a good…

View original post 105 more words

Comments are closed.