Animal Lovers' Blog


Brandon Hill Nature Blog

A close encounter with common dolphins – please watch in HD!

I’ve just returned to Bristol after over a month away, most of it spent at sea, aboard The Bessie Ellen – a tall ship built in Plymouth in 1904. She was once part of a fleet of nearly 700 West Country trading ketches, of which only 3 now remain (including the Irene of Bridgwater, which can often be seen in the Floating Harbour at Bristol). Below is a picture of her I took during a night watch in Velas, São Jorge, Azores.

My Atlantic odyssey began in the Canaries at San Miguel Marina on the southern tip of Tenerife, where I spent a few days exploring the island before embarking on the passage to the Azorean isles. After receiving a series of overwhelmingly negative reports of the Canaries from my friends, I wasn’t expecting too much, but was pleasantly…

View original post 864 more words

Comments are closed.