Animal Lovers' Blog


macrocritters

Late one afternoon, this past July, I went for a walk in the garden to see if there was anything interesting creeping, crawling or flying around. To my delight I discovered that the Joe-Pye weed (Eupatorium purpureum) was literally crawling with bright yellow-orange ladybugs. I quickly counted 14 on only a few stems. The typical red ladybugs aren’t rare in my garden, but this was the first time I’d seen specimens of this colour, and it was surprising to see so many of them together on one plant. I promptly trotted into the house to grab my camera. Unfortunately, I was distracted by the kids and it took me more than 30 minutes to get back. To my dismay, in that short period of time most of the ladybugs had disappeared! A thorough search of the Joe-Pye weed produced only one specimen to photograph, and it wasn’t particularly…

View original post 323 more words

Comments are closed.